• English
  • Deutsch
  • Other languages


NMMA Requirements

The NMMA does not use ISO standards but uses selected ABYC standards in the certification programme. To obtain these standards, please contact American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC).

Applicable ABYC Standards to the NMMA Boat and Yacht Certification Programme

View standards for the 2019 Model Year 

View standards for the 2018 Model Year

NMMA Certified Boat and Yacht manufacturers are required to send to the USA at least one person from their organization to the NMMA Engineering Compliance Seminar at least once every two years. In addition, certified manufacturers must have at least one representative pass applicable Compliance Specialist exams annually.

Testing is based on the ABYC standards and NMMA Certification requirements for the upcoming model year. Upon successful completion of each of the exam modules, the individual will receive a certificate outlining the achievement and status as a Compliance Specialist.

Please find more details here.

The annual requirements for NMMA Certification are outlined in the certification agreement and published policies/documents.

Privacy & Cookies: This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use.
To find out more, including how to control cookies, see here: Cookie Policy & Privacy