• English
  • Deutsch
  • Other languages


NMMA Procedure

Program participants must certify all recreational craft models (except racing craft) marketed in the USA for non-commercial use.

  • Participating boat manufacturers must become an NMMA member;
  • Participating boat manufacturers must submit applications for all models;
  • Each model must be physically inspected by an IMCI/NMMA Inspector annually;
  • To achieve certification, a manufacturer must demonstrate that all variances found during the (re-) inspection have been corrected. The manufacturer is responsible for ensuring that all production units are manufactured in compliance with the certified design.

All certified recreational craft models

  1. must be equipped with “NMMA Type Accepted Components” which are:
  • Bilge Pumps
  • Bilge Blowers
  • Fuel hoses
  • Fuel tanks
  • Horns
  • Navigation Lights
  • Steering Helms
  • Steering Wheels
  1. should be equipped with “NMMA Listed Components” which are:
  • Marine generators
  • Battery chargers/inverters/inverter chargers
  • Galvanic isolators
  • Galley stoves
  • Refrigeration and air conditioning equipment
  • LPG and CNG appliances
  • CO detectors
  • Gas detectors
  • Hatches/windows/portlights
  • Seats
  • Marine inboard engines
  • Boarding ladder

Note: NMMA does not accept CE Certification or test results to any standards other than ABYC.

Please find more details about NMMA Type Accepted Components and NMMA Listed Components.

Privacy & Cookies: This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use.
To find out more, including how to control cookies, see here: Cookie Policy & Privacy