• English
  • Deutsch
  • Other languages


ISO TC 188 News
  • 2020-Aug-24

ISO TC 188 News

New Chair of ISO TC 188 elected

Recently the International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO) Technical Committee 188, Small craft, announced the appointment of Mr. Craig Scholten, as the new TC 188 Chairman for 2021-2023, replacing Mr. Thomas Marhevko.

Both Craig and Tom are longstanding members of the Board of Directors of IMCI, Scholten currently as Past Chair, and Marhevko as Treasurer. Ulrich Heinemann, CEO of IMCI, says: "IMCI is proud to have such dedicated and experienced Directors on board"

Marhevko has been the Technical Chair of ISO TC 188 for the previous nine years (three terms) and oversaw the Committee’s focus in transitioning to the 2013 Recreational Craft Directive. He recently retired as Senior Vice President of the National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) in the United States. He will continue to serve in the TC as working group convener and expert.

While serving in this Technical Committee as both convener and expert, Scholten represents the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) in the United States. Scholten currently serves as the Technical Vice President of the American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC). Throughout his career, he has worked in boat manufacturing, in national and international boat certification, and standards development.

The ISO Technical Committee 188 develops and maintains standards for equipment and construction details of watercraft under EU-Directive 2013/53